The Biplane Forum > Biplane Builder's Forums > Steen Skybolt > Miscellaneous > New Panel



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 02:31 AM   #1
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default


I am having a panel redux, and this is more or less the final rendition:
http://www.biplaneforum.com/1newgraypanel.jpg

I am struggling for space in certain areas behind the panel, so some things are where I want them, and a couple are forced fitted...
Ignore the ASI MPH and Fuel pressure ranges, and the circuit breaker detail....otherwise, everything else is accurate.


__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:01 AM   #2
nicko
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
nicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 183
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Send a message via MSN to nicko
Default

Looks awesome! do you already have the fl-760?



__________________
nicko is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:04 AM   #3
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

The 760 is on its way from ACS...

__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:07 AM   #4
nicko
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
nicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 183
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Send a message via MSN to nicko
Default

Ordered one last night and will be putting it in this weekend

__________________
nicko is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:38 AM   #5
darylat8750
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
darylat8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: laramie, wy, usa
Posts: 2,192
Liked 82 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Send a message via MSN to darylat8750
Default

The only thing I would change is the master/battery and the mags/start switches. I like to be able to check mags without taking my right hand off the stick.

__________________
darylat8750 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:49 AM   #6
Dennis Flamini
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dennis Flamini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 794
Liked 104 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Send a message via MSN to Dennis Flamini
Default

John,
Which switches, circ brkrs did you use?
How did you do the lettering?
Looks great.
Dennis in Chicago
PS; please tell me more than 30 people out of almost 3000 donated.

__________________
Dennis Flamini is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 04:00 AM   #7
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default



Not bought the breakers yet. Switches were from I think B&C electrical. The pic is a mock up done in photoshop.
I will be getting the panel labelled by a local screen printer.

There were 2 anonymous, too. The appeal triggered I think 17. That number is pretty much normal for these appeals.

__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
cvairwerks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Justin, Texas
Posts: 90
Liked 19 Times on 19 Posts

Default

Something to consider on the switches. If you look at the ergonomic layout, then spreading the switches across the bottom of the panel is going to make things awkward. To toggle half the bottom row, you will need to be reaching across the cockpit with your left hand or you have to let go of the stick with your right. With a chute on, and harness pulled tight, you may have to struggle with it some using the left. If you move the light and ? switches to above the airspeed, they are readily accessable and not a stretch to get to.
You may also want to consider swapping the position of the boost pump and masters. In that swapped position, depending on your throttle location, it could be possible to hit the boost pump switch with a fingertip and not have to remove your hand from the throttle, were you in a situation that things were going out of wack in a hurry.
Before cutting the panel, it might be worth printing the pic and pasting to a cardboard mockup and playing with it in the cockpit a bit.
Some food for thought.....

__________________
cvairwerks is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 07:03 PM   #9
StinsonPilot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
StinsonPilot's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,051
Liked 290 Times on 219 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Looking good John

__________________
StinsonPilot is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 08:07 PM   #10
cashflyer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cashflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Liked 73 Times on 48 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Is that layout done with X-Panel software?



__________________
cashflyer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 11:42 PM   #11
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

No. Done with photoshop.

__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:05 AM   #12
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default


Here is a revised one..
http://www.biplaneforum.com/panelcompare.jpg


<To toggle half the bottom row, you will need to be reaching across the cockpit with your left hand or you have to let go of the stick with your right.Unfortunately, the Skybolt panel is pretty close, I don't have an issue reaching much of anything.
<You may also want to consider swapping the position of the boost pump and masters.


Along with what Daryl mentioned regarding the ignition position..see revised pic.
__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:22 AM   #13
smizo
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
smizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Clarks Summit, PA
Posts: 3,084
Liked 430 Times on 344 Posts
Likes Given: 633

Default

Beej, if I can make a suggestion, I'd try to swap the alti with the vsi. I know they are different size but if you ever want to put an arresting card on your panel you can cover the compass and vsi with it, kinda need the altimeter....... For what it's worth.....

__________________
smizo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:31 AM   #14
StinsonPilot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
StinsonPilot's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,051
Liked 290 Times on 219 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Here's more fuel for your fire.

I see you have an IO-360. The start procedure is to crank with the mixture at Idle Cutoff and move it forward to rich as the engine starts. You're going to have to turn the start switch with your right hand and move the mixture with your left.


__________________
StinsonPilot is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:47 AM   #15
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by StinsonPilot
Here's more fuel for your fire.

I see you have an IO-360. The start procedure is to crank with the mixture at Idle Cutoff and move it forward to rich as the engine starts. You're going to have to turn the start switch with your right hand and move the mixture with your left.

I have thought of that, and I switched the ignition from the right because I figured the inconvenience of two hands at left on start carried less weight than right hand on stick/left hand on mags, as Daryl pointed out.
Smizo..this is like a game of musical chairs! I cannot move the alti bottom left without moving up the ASI and I physically cannot do that (see my first post:I am struggling for space in certain areas behind the panel, so some things are where I want them, and a couple are forced fitted...)
__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:52 AM   #16
TxSkyBolt
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TxSkyBolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universal City, TX
Posts: 1,304
Liked 87 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Send a message via MSN to TxSkyBolt
Default

Beej,
I don't think you'll have a problem with the location of your ignition switch. There is no great rush needed to advance the mixture once the engine starts running. Properly primed, it will run for a few seconds with the mixture at idle cuttoff. Plenty of time to take your hand off he key and move it to the mixture control. That being said, mine is on the right and I do not hold the stick back during start. No problems.
Best regards,
brad

__________________
TxSkyBolt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:03 AM   #17
smizo
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
smizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Clarks Summit, PA
Posts: 3,084
Liked 430 Times on 344 Posts
Likes Given: 633

Default

well ya know how to solve that problem beej......the RV7 has a larger panel...... nevermind, that may get me banned

__________________
smizo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:05 AM   #18
darylat8750
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
darylat8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: laramie, wy, usa
Posts: 2,192
Liked 82 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Send a message via MSN to darylat8750
Default

Hence my argument for an I Pad that you program as required...

__________________
darylat8750 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:45 AM   #19
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Oh, and the reason I am struggling with space at the rear is because of a PAX steel tubed truss for a higher shoulder harness point... came back to bite me, a little..

__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:47 AM   #20
jgnunn
Administrator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jgnunn's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,665
Liked 173 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by darylat8750
Hence my argument for an I Pad that you program as required...[img]smileys/smiley2.gif[/img]
I pondered for a while on thesehttp://www.mglavionics.com/html/voyager.html
but it just doesn't seem right for a biplane :0|..personal taste, of course. I also think they lead to too many heads watching TV inside the cockpit..
__________________
jgnunn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:53 AM   #21
darylat8750
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
darylat8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: laramie, wy, usa
Posts: 2,192
Liked 82 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Send a message via MSN to darylat8750
Default

"I also think they lead to too many heads watching TV inside the cockpit.."

I rode a taxi to the airport the other day with the driver watching cartoons on a screen about the size of an IPad. I would have gotten out but he gave me a "real good price".

__________________
darylat8750 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:04 PM   #22
Neil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Neil's Avatar
Planes
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, LA
Posts: 4,032
Liked 235 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

I have the START button on the RIGHT and THROTTLE on the LEFT situation in mine and with all the ground runs I've made I hasn't presented itself to be an issue. No matter how you do it you can't have a hand on the key, throttle and stick all at the same time. So far all my runs have been without any wings on the airplane which should be a worse case scenario. I did leave the center of the panel clear just for a place to stick a Sequence Card, portable GPS or a small note sheet.

__________________
Neil is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 08:21 PM   #23
bf92
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bf92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,008
Liked 103 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Send a message via MSN to bf92
Default

You could put a start button on the control stick grip, if was located so it wouldn't be hit advertantly in flight.


Danny

__________________
bf92 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 09:50 PM   #24
TxSkyBolt
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TxSkyBolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universal City, TX
Posts: 1,304
Liked 87 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Send a message via MSN to TxSkyBolt
Default

I think that would be a solution in search of a problem.

__________________
TxSkyBolt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2012, 02:50 AM   #25
darylat8750
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
darylat8750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: laramie, wy, usa
Posts: 2,192
Liked 82 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Send a message via MSN to darylat8750
Default

I don't see the start button as an issue. I do like mags, fuel boost pump, fuel tank selector (if more than one tank that can feed directly to the engine.) and carb heat (or alt air) in a position to "fall readily to hand" for my left hand in an airplane with a control stick.



__________________
darylat8750 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel Neil Fuselage & Empennage 45 04-26-2013 11:17 PM
Show Us Your Panel Please Airfoil Pitts 24 07-14-2012 02:41 PM
GPS in panel jgnunn Electrical & Instrumentation 22 03-26-2012 11:39 PM
Panel gha111 Fuselage & Empennage 7 09-21-2010 11:19 AM
Panel Thickness jgnunn Miscellaneous 24 12-17-2008 06:57 PM