The Biplane Forum > Biplane Builder's Forums > Pitts > Miscellaneous > -g and the pitts s1ss

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
Btro0515
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Send a message via MSN to Btro0515

Hello again. Got alot of great info on my last question. Still waiting on plans to get here...but just out of interest...the +6 -3 g limit on the s1ss seems a bit small on the negative side. I know there have been many forums about this, but nothing too concrete in here. What i would like to know is how would one go about strengthening for harder outside acro? I am a first time builder, so if it is way too much engineering i could learn to love that limitation. But if there are some simple things to do to at least push a bit harder, id love to hear about it! Call me weird, but i enjoy outside a bit more than inside! I would be just as happy if the limit was 3 period, but if it can be done...why the hell not? (excluding utility limits, i want her to last a while!). Thanx for reading!

Brandon

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2012, 06:51 PM   #2
cwilliamrose

Planes

Liked 249 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I'm going to take a shot at this and wait to stand corrected;
I believe the +6, -3 limits are a result of certification costs and not because the airplane is really that much different on the negative side. I do know for a fact that the S-1S airplanes are regularly flown to higher negative G loads with no apparent problems. My G-meter normally had +7, -5 on it after each flight. Since the meter only went to -5 before hitting the peg I'm not sure how high the loads were on the negative side. I was generally flying at less than gross weight while doing sequences but not 40% under.
The S-1T has different limits, something like +6, -4.6. I don't know why. That airplane sees about the same treatment as the other S-1 airplanes when flying in the higher competition categories.