The Biplane Forum > Biplane Technical Forums > Electrical & Instrumentation > Vibration activated hour meter. Anyone use these?



Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2017, 10:52 AM   #1
pigpenracing
BiP_SUPPORTER.png
 
pigpenracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brenham Texas
Posts: 2,017
Liked 490 Times on 286 Posts
Likes Given: 498

Default Vibration activated hour meter. Anyone use these?

My J-3 was rebuilt back to all original and does not have a hour meter or tach time. I have been using a stopwatch and writing down each flight. I would like a hour meter to keep um with oil changes etc. I saw this little unit and wondering if its good or junk? Seems simple since I don't have electrical in the plane. The other option is the style you wrap around a plug wire. Looking for a simple option.
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/inpages/t56c1.php


pigpenracing is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 01:00 PM   #2
cashflyer
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,096
Liked 319 Times on 195 Posts
Likes Given: 40

Default

I've never used one like this, but I like the idea!

I can't find a reference for how much vibration is necessary for the meter to run, or for now long it runs after vibration has stopped.

I see there is a loop of wire on the back that you must cut to activate. So I bet you could install a switch in series with that wire that would allow you to deactivate the meter.

Maybe for like when it is being worked on, you would want to deactivate so the meter is not running while people are wrenching on it. Or so the meter is not running if it is parked outside on a windy day.


__________________
They don't think it be like it is, but it do.
cashflyer is offline  
pigpenracing Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 03:18 PM   #3
dimcuesta
Registered Users
 
dimcuesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 224
Liked 41 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

May not be pretty on a J3 panel, but I like the T-30 Tach. It wires on the mag p-leads and you can set it to record hours based on different modes, "Clock Time" or "Tach Time". You can input the Tach rpm datum for which you want the recording to be referenced to. See here.
__________________
Blog on my Pitts S-1S: http://pittss1.blogspot.ca
dimcuesta is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 04:17 AM   #4
EAABipe40FF
Registered Users
BiP_SUPPORTER.png
 
EAABipe40FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Springfield, WV
Posts: 4,444
Liked 841 Times on 669 Posts
Likes Given: 603

Default

I've got a T-30 too but it requires electric.
__________________
Finished Spezio Tu-holer N92JM(Oct. 2011), AcroDuster 2- SA750 N22JM, first flight 12-14-15
2Cor5:17
EAABipe40FF is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 11:20 AM   #5
dimcuesta
Registered Users
 
dimcuesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 224
Liked 41 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Oh sorry, I missed that requirement.
__________________
Blog on my Pitts S-1S: http://pittss1.blogspot.ca
dimcuesta is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 11:35 AM   #6
EAABipe40FF
Registered Users
BiP_SUPPORTER.png
 
EAABipe40FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Springfield, WV
Posts: 4,444
Liked 841 Times on 669 Posts
Likes Given: 603

Default

I remember that I tried one of the vibration activated meters. I forget the brand. Didn't work, kept running even when I tied the wires.

Then between finding the injected engine problematic to hand prop and my D2 wobble pump toast as well as problematic feeding a FI engine I decided to install a battery, starter and electric boost pump.

An electric tach that ran off the tach drive came with the project didn't work so I got the T-30.

Anyway I'll check on that vib. hour meter. I'll give it to you if you want to try it. Don't know if it can be set to zero?


You could install a recording tach.

Jack
__________________
Finished Spezio Tu-holer N92JM(Oct. 2011), AcroDuster 2- SA750 N22JM, first flight 12-14-15
2Cor5:17
EAABipe40FF is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 06:57 PM   #7
pigpenracing
BiP_SUPPORTER.png
 
pigpenracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brenham Texas
Posts: 2,017
Liked 490 Times on 286 Posts
Likes Given: 498

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAABipe40FF View Post
I remember that I tried one of the vibration activated meters. I forget the brand. Didn't work, kept running even when I tied the wires.

Then between finding the injected engine problematic to hand prop and my D2 wobble pump toast as well as problematic feeding a FI engine I decided to install a battery, starter and electric boost pump.

An electric tach that ran off the tach drive came with the project didn't work so I got the T-30.

Anyway I'll check on that vib. hour meter. I'll give it to you if you want to try it. Don't know if it can be set to zero?


You could install a recording tach.

Jack
I think I will try one of these.
https://www.aircraftspruce.com/pages...h/tinytt2a.php
pigpenracing is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 09:30 PM   #8
EAABipe40FF
Registered Users
BiP_SUPPORTER.png
 
EAABipe40FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Springfield, WV
Posts: 4,444
Liked 841 Times on 669 Posts
Likes Given: 603

Default

Probably a better idea?
__________________
Finished Spezio Tu-holer N92JM(Oct. 2011), AcroDuster 2- SA750 N22JM, first flight 12-14-15
2Cor5:17
EAABipe40FF is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 10:45 PM   #9
wanttaja
Registered Users
 
wanttaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Seattle
Posts: 195
Liked 100 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigpenracing View Post
Got one, have had good luck with it.

http://www.bowersflybaby.com/tech/tach.html

Battery ran out so I replaced the unit last year.


Ron Wanttaja
wanttaja is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 01:55 AM   #10
HighTow
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mosheim, TN 8TN4
Posts: 92
Liked 32 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Those TinyTachs work good. I've had several over the years. Would be just fine for what you want. You could leave it in front of the firewall if you wanted. The lead just wraps around the ignition cable.


HighTow is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS 180 HP Lycoming with 0 hour since rebuild Gmovies Classifieds 11 08-11-2017 09:32 PM
Engine Vibration Dave Baxter Lycoming & Continental 38 08-03-2017 04:47 AM
Slave Strut Vibration TxSkyBolt Skybolt Wings 4 07-31-2016 01:42 AM
Out in the sun for an hour taff Steen Skybolt 26 09-21-2014 12:32 PM
Acrosport 2 annual /100 hour inspection robertsailor Acrosport 6 04-28-2011 05:21 AM