The Biplane Forum > Biplane Technical Forums > Electrical & Instrumentation > Avionics on the cheap

Old 04-01-2011, 04:08 AM   #1
IanJ

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via MSN to IanJ

Hey guys, long time no post! I realized it was madness to continue with my thoughts on an AcroSport II, and gave up on it a few years ago.

But! I recently started playing with something some of you might be vaguely interested in. I'm building an electronic air data instrument (as I call it) -- a little home-built airspeed indicator, altimeter, VSI, and potentially compass controlled by an inexpensive microprocessor, and displayed on a little LCD. Totally built on the cheap, and currently aimed at installation on a motorcycle (because I'm Quixotic like that).

http://www.obairlann.net/reaper/arduino/airdata/

It's not something I'd ever put on a real biplane, but I was recently contacted by someone building something very similar for ultralights (including gauges with needles). It occurred to me that I hadn't been here in ages, and this would be an excellent excuse to say hello. Then I started thinking about ultralight biplanes, then I got here again, and so I start pushing the rock up the hill again.

Edited by: IanJ

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 02:45 AM   #2
darylat8750
BiP_MODERATOR.png

Liked 87 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Send a message via MSN to darylat8750

Welcome back!
I like this thing. This and a slip/skid indicator (ball) would be all that is needed in the front seat of a 2 place biplane and way lighter than traditional instruments.

Old 04-02-2011, 02:18 PM   #3
GoldenAge
BiP_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 63 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Send a message via MSN to GoldenAge