In Memorium - Jim Doyle - Chopmo
The Biplane Forum > Biplane Builder's Forums > Other Types > Waco & Hatz > Waco YMF-5C

Old 08-10-2011, 07:16 PM   #1
Peter N
Registered Users
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Send a message via MSN to Peter N

Hello,
I am looking at purchasing a Bi-plane. I have been a pilot for only a few years, took my instructions in a Cessna 172 but just cant seem to warm up to buying a plane of that type. I have decided on a Stearman but think maybe I would be better with a YMF-5C of a few years old. I know there would be a lot of things to cover but I have to start somewhere. Any input?

Peter N

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2011, 07:48 PM   #2
pigpenracing
BiP_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 70 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Sounds more fun than a boring old Cessna....
Thats what my 8 year old son always tells me when we look at Biplanes.

I have thought about a Stearman or Waco but I just can't get away from these little hot rod bi-planes.

Fly one of those types then go get an hour in a Pitts S-2B or S-2C to compare.

Old 08-10-2011, 08:00 PM   #3
SteveN452

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via MSN to SteveN452

If you haven't already, I suggest you get your tailwheel endorsement and fly a tail dragger for a number of hours before you try a BiPlane. Stearmans are easier to find than Wacos and the newer Waco YMFs are quite expensive. With proper training and experience, both are great planes.
The choice of biplanes depends on what you want. Both the Stearman and Wacos are "antique" type planes. If you want serious aerobatics, then something like a Pitts would be much more suitable.
Hope this helps.
Steve
Edited by: SteveN452

Old 08-10-2011, 09:23 PM   #4
pigpenracing
BiP_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 70 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 2