The Biplane Forum > Biplane Builder's Forums > Pitts > Pitts Fuselage & Empennage > control stick


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
nicko
 
nicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 200
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Send a message via MSN to nicko
Default

I remember reading somwhere that the s1 control stick is the same as a piper cub stick. Does anybody know if this is true?



__________________
nicko is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2012, 03:02 AM   #2
TxSkyBolt
Moderator
BiP_MODERATOR.png
 
TxSkyBolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universal City, TX
Posts: 1,402
Liked 134 Times on 90 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Send a message via MSN to TxSkyBolt
Default

Well Nick, they both use straight sticks, so maybe. As I recall the cub stick was very tall.
Best regards,
Brad



__________________
TxSkyBolt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2012, 05:45 AM   #3
bf92
BiP_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bf92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bountiful, UT
Posts: 1,110
Liked 141 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

This is not true. The Pitts uses bearings, the Cub has a bushing, and the two are not the same length, or have the same ratios. I have an old set of very early Starduster plans, and they show "use Cub control system", rather than any details. I think this old wives tale comes from builders often used components from certificated airplanes.


Danny

__________________
bf92 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2012, 12:53 PM   #4
nicko
 
nicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 200
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Send a message via MSN to nicko
Default

Danny, thanks for clearing that up. I was looking at new control sticks and thought I had heard that the cub one would work. It looks like a used pitts stick isnt too expensive.

__________________
nicko is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
jrs14855
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ
Posts: 728
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts

Default

The first airplanes built by Curtis were very different from S1C Plans. Allegedly #1 used control cable instead of flying wires, I think that was changed. #1 had cub wheels and brakes and no bungees.

__________________
jrs14855 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 09:55 PM   #6
SKYBLZR19H
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to SKYBLZR19H
Default

Nick:


If you need one, I've got one from the Aviat factory that has never been installed in an airplane. Still in the paint from the factory with the QA stamp visible. $175.00 and I'll pay the freight if you are in the US.


The Skyblazer

__________________
SKYBLZR19H is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 10:26 PM   #7
nicko
 
nicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 200
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Send a message via MSN to nicko
Default

sent you a pm



__________________
nicko is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
control stick wiring tdpole1 Acrosport 18 09-28-2011 09:39 AM
Need S1C control stick flyrite Pitts 0 10-18-2010 10:21 PM
Control Stick, part 5 scottly Skybolt Fuselage & Empennage 8 07-23-2008 10:12 PM
Control Stick, Part 4 scottly Skybolt Fuselage & Empennage 3 01-15-2008 12:40 AM
Control Stick scottly Skybolt Fuselage & Empennage 7 10-04-2006 11:49 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS