Avation friendly prescription frames

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by ioneater, Apr 15, 2018.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Apr 15, 2018 #1

ioneater

ioneater

ioneater

Supporting Member Supporting Member

I was given fair warning by my AME not to show up without glasses next time. So..... what's out there for frames that work well with ear cups and don't block peripheral vision? I fly for a living and am required to wear a helmet when doing so. Are the "Flying Eyes" advertised on Barnstormers worth a dang? Those appear to be sunglasses only.

2. Apr 15, 2018 #2

PittsDriver68

PittsDriver68

PittsDriver68

Speaking from experience, any of the "aviator" style frames with thin ear pieces work well enough. You will likely want reading lenses also, if not today, then soon. For those I suggest starting with the stick on readers. You can try them in different locations on your main lens and see what works best for your instrument panel and cockpit. https://www.amazon.com/Optx-20-Stick-Bifocals-175/dp/B000W7HQBW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1523828974&sr=8-2&keywords=optx%2Bstickon&th=1

If the thin ear pieces of the aviator style frames let some noise in, you have an excuse to get a CEP kit.

Getting old is not for sissies.

Wes

3. Apr 15, 2018 #3

AaronS

AaronS

AaronS

Registered Users

+1 on the aviator style frames. I've bought several pairs of glasses through www.zenni.com and they have all been great. They have several aviator style frames available.

Though I don't have a big prescription, my glasses are mostly to correct my astigmatism, so YMMV if you need progressive lenses and what not.

4. Apr 15, 2018 #4

IanJ

IanJ

IanJ

Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter