Best way to bring back a Concord RG 25xc Battery

Discussion in 'Electrical & Instrumentation' started by Mike V, Jul 8, 2018.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Jul 8, 2018 #1

    Mike V

    Mike V

    Mike V

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    A
    dead Concord battery....
    completely drained. Any suggestions on bringing it back to life ??

    Master switch left on for about two weeks... [ I know, …. follow the check list !! ]

    I've put it on the 'Batteryminder'...

    Does anyone think it may come back to life and would you trust it ?

    I've had a suggestion: take it to a local Batteries Plus and see what they have to say...

    Thanks... Mike V
     
  2. Jul 8, 2018 #2

    Don Adamson

    Don Adamson

    Don Adamson

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lonoke, AR
    It's gone. Had two customers do that last year. We could get to charge but not hold a charge.
     
  3. Jul 8, 2018 #3

    biplanebob

    biplanebob

    biplanebob

    Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    377
    I left the master on a few years ago on my biplane for a week, same experience, … the Concorde battery was toast.
    Purchased a new battery, never made that mistake again.
     
  4. Jul 8, 2018 #4

    Mike V

    Mike V

    Mike V

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well.... Blank- ditty didy… Blank.... H E double hockey sticks...

    Rats..

    I concur … won't happen again...
     
  5. Jul 9, 2018 #5

    IanJ

    IanJ

    IanJ

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    306
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ugh, condolences. I was pretty unhappy when I found my master switch on, maybe three days after my annual -- I had definitely turned it off, so the mechanic must have left it on for me. I'm fortunate that my plane has nothing to draw power except the master relay until you manually turn on the radios or hit the starter, and it seems to have taken the recharge without issue. That was probably the incident that convinced me I need to find a new A&P, though.
     
  6. Jul 9, 2018 #6

    garyg

    garyg

    garyg

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    89
    I would try a really slow trickle charge for a few hours followed by a mid amp charge. There is a procedure to restore a lead acid battery that has sulfated (which is what they will do when left flat). Depends on the age of the battery and the number of times it has been flattened. My experience with car batteries, which end up flat more than you can imagine. If it is old, I would dump it but if it is relatively fresh I would try the above first.
     
  7. Jul 9, 2018 #7

    navybipe

    navybipe

    navybipe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    173
    did the same thing to the same brand/model battery (it was 2 years old). my charger put it thru the "sulfate" cycle then charged it. been operating normally for the past year.
     
  8. Jul 9, 2018 #8

    marquartflyer

    marquartflyer

    marquartflyer

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    109
    A checkbook.
     
  9. Jul 9, 2018 #9

    ioneater

    ioneater

    ioneater

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    142
    The May issue of Kitplanes has an interesting article by Jim Weir about a Harbor Freight battery charger that brought back his dead Concorde. I've got one as well, I think it was $35 dollars on sale. I haven't had to resurrect a dead battery with it.........yet. It works on everything I currently own.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page