• The Biplane Forum is a large global active community of biplane builders, owners and pilots. From Pitts to Skybolts, to older barnstormers, all types are welcome. In addition to our active community, our content boasts exhaustive technical information which is often sought after for projects and maintenance. This information has accumulated over the 12+ years the forum has been in existence.

    The Biplane Forum is a private community. Subscriptions are only $29.95/year to gain access to this great community and unmatched source of information not found anywhere else on the web. We are also a great resource for non biplane users, since many GA aircraft are built the same way (fabric and tube construction).

Radio Wanted

Beej

Creator of this place
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
6,327
Reaction score
1,158
Location
Austin, TX
Does anyone have a half decent looking panel mounted COM tranceiver they would sell me? Not looking for mortgage payment models..
thanks
beej
 

smizo

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
4,917
We take a ton of avionics out at work for upgrades, most of it is 24V but I'll see what we have at the shop in 12V tomorrow for ya.
 

Buckeagle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
50
Reaction score
1
Check out the Flightline FL-760. We are putting one in the Yak right now. Very light and was about $650 dollars. Built in intercom and music tap.
Buck
 

Beej

Creator of this place
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
6,327
Reaction score
1,158
Location
Austin, TX
I looked at that, great value, but I did notice the VOX intercom system by design gets interrupted from incoming radio...those lcd displays are also pretty small...and I am starting to get the dreaded 'old dudes eye sight'...
I do have a separate intercom system, by all accounts, most avionics guys recommend a separate intercom system..that approach can apparently save a lot of grief..
 

Buckeagle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
50
Reaction score
1
I just noticed that it is also a hot mike intercom. Not a problem in the Yak (1 seat) but gets old in a two seater.
Buck

 

Beej

Creator of this place
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
6,327
Reaction score
1,158
Location
Austin, TX

Buckeagle said:
..Not a problem in the Yak (1 seat) but gets old in a two seater.
Could be a real pain if you like talking to yourself..
 

darylat8750

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,176
Reaction score
91
"Could be a real pain if you like talking to yourself..
"

The real problem comes when you answer yourself.



 

wally

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
362
Reaction score
31
I have a Flightline 760 in my single place Pitts and like it.


It has some features I didn't hook up that kinda wish I had. I think I remember a way to add a remote switch (on the stick?) to change or step through the preset frequencies.


The knobs are prett small but I don't have a problem unless it is bumpy weather. Even then, not too hard to do.


A nice radio.
WallyEdited by: wally
 

MNForrest

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
187
Reaction score
20
For what it's worth - I put a Becker in my Pitt's over a year ago, and it has been great. AMAZING reduction in cockpit noise transmitted compared to the King that it replaced.
 

robertsailor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
287
Reaction score
2
I have a Microair M-760 that I replaced after a failure on my ferry trip home with a brand new one as I was in a hurry and there were no repair shops in Phoenix. I sent it in to the East Coast dealer when I got home and paid to have it repaired as well as brought up to brand new standards.
It fits in a normal instrument hole and is quite shallow. I was going to just keep it but would sell it to you. I'd need to get around $600.00 for it. No Harness.


 

Tomcat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
1,345
Reaction score
459
I've got a nice as removed KY-97A comm for sale. Absolutely nothing wrong with it, just won't work in the panel of my S-1. What are you looking to spend John?
 

Beej

Creator of this place
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
6,327
Reaction score
1,158
Location
Austin, TX
Thanks all. I am sorted.
 

Flying Ant

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
606
Reaction score
55
Hey Robert, how deep is that Microair? I'm interested but I've got very very little room behind my panel.
 

robertsailor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
287
Reaction score
2
The Microair is a little more than 5" deep plus you have to allow another 1-1/2" for the harness. Cheers, R

 

Tomcat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
1,345
Reaction score
459
I'm going to put an MGL V6 in my S-1 when I get to that point. They are about the smallest panel mount you can get from what I've found. They are also making a version of the V6 that has a remote mount face for those places that have absolutely no room behind the panel. The remote face V6 is not available yet but will be by this summer.
 

Latest posts

Top