Rotec R-2800, R-3600 Q&A

Discussion in 'Radial's' started by Radialconversions, Feb 17, 2018.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Feb 17, 2018 #1

Radialconversions

Radialconversions

Radialconversions

Registered Users

I’ve been operating the Rotec R-3600 for a few years now and have had good success on its installation. It took a lot of work to get it correct, but I think I’m there now with a safe installation. When I first got the engine all of the problems that were occurring in the field had just started to see daylight. All of the Rotec owners banded together and started to come up with ideas on what was wrong. What we found out was that most of the engine failures occurred not due to the engine, but the installation practices that were used. So we set out to identify each problem area and come up with fixes.
    Some ideas go as far as changing the oil tank design and some are as simple at running blast tubes to certain accessories. Anyway I know there are many concerns and questions about these engines. I’m here to answer any questions people have.

2. Feb 17, 2018 #2

Morphewb

Morphewb

Morphewb

Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

While it's admirable Rotec owners have banded together to fix ''what's wrong'' with the engine this is something that shouldn't have had to happen. Operating a dry sump radial engine hasn't been a secret for almost 90 years. Why was it left up to the customers to work out the bugs of the system while at the same time having to pay for that dubious honor? None of you should have had to ''come up with fixes''especially if you had to pay good money to do what the manufacturer should have done in the first place. Rotec had data available from years of operational experience on just about every radial engine manufactured since the mid 1920's. You guys shouldn't have had to pay to become beta testers on a technology that's been ''mature'' since long before I was born.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2018