S-2A Front Secondary Belt Attach

Discussion in 'Pitts' started by cwilliamrose, Feb 2, 2018.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Feb 2, 2018 #1

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    SW Florida (94FL)
    How are you S-2 owners attaching the secondary belt? The one in my front cockpit shares the hardware with the primary belt. It is as shown in the parts manual but I don't like it.

    Seat Belt Attach, S-2A.JPG
     
  2. Feb 2, 2018 #2

    S2e

    S2e

    S2e

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    30
    Pretty sure mine just wraps around the tube that part # 11 is clamped around.
     
  3. Feb 2, 2018 #3

    dexws

    dexws

    dexws

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
    S-2B has 2 couple of fittings, one on the vertical tube. I cannot post pictures now I will do tomorrow
     
  4. Feb 2, 2018 #4

    dexws

    dexws

    dexws

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
    I mean on the back seat, on the front I think just one
     
  5. Feb 2, 2018 #5

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    SW Florida (94FL)
    I was wondering if that was possible, the foot rail is close.


    Like this;

    Seat Belt Attach, S-2B.JPG

    I think I like that but it would have to be tack welded in place so it will need to wait until the airplane is being recovered.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Feb 2, 2018 #6

    dexws

    dexws

    dexws

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes exactly. My s-2a has something different I will post pictures
     
  7. Feb 3, 2018 #7

    bigblackmastiff

    bigblackmastiff

    bigblackmastiff

    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    103
    I don't have a Pitts, ...but here is something i'm using in my plane.

    clamp.jpg
     
  8. Feb 3, 2018 #8

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    SW Florida (94FL)
    That's worth looking into. I don't know how much room I have or which way the bolt orientation needs to be for best clearance. Thanks,
     
  9. Feb 3, 2018 #9

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,053
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    I think that my second front seat belt in my S-2A just has the webbing wrapped around the tube and then secured through a 3-bar adjuster fitting.

    The second belt is there in case you inadvertently unlatch the first belt and then push outside. Not sure that its attachment needs a real hard point. My recollection of the Hooker Harness instructions were to just wrap the belt around the tube.

    Best of luck,

    Wes
     
  10. Feb 3, 2018 #10

    Larry Lyons

    Larry Lyons

    Larry Lyons

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    879
    My anti submarine belt is just wrapped around the tube as is my shoulder belt attach.
     
  11. Feb 3, 2018 #11

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    SW Florida (94FL)
    If the secondary belt can be wrapped around the seat tube I'll just do that for now. I seem to recall the foot rail being close to the seat tube in that area so I'm not sure if that's going to be a problem or not. I think the secondary belt in the rear cockpit is wrapped around a different tube than the primary belt is attached to.
     
  12. Feb 4, 2018 #12

    dexws

    dexws

    dexws

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
  13. Feb 4, 2018 #13

    dexws

    dexws

    dexws

    Registered Users Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
    Opss too many pictures
     
  14. Feb 4, 2018 #14

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    cwilliamrose

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    SW Florida (94FL)
    Thanks. I would think the clamp would need to be tack welded but maybe, as a temporary solution, it can be a simple adder that gets a permanent spot later.
     
  15. Feb 4, 2018 #15

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,053
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    Here is what the front seat Hooker Harness in my S-2A looks like. Installed in accordance with STC instructions. You can see the second lap belt wrapped around the side seat tube and the front, anti-submarine belt, also installed wrapped around the front seat bottom tube.

    Best of luck,

    Wes

    Pitts Front Seat Belt 2.jpg
     
    Larry Lyons likes this.
  16. Feb 19, 2018 #16

    aobt14

    aobt14

    aobt14

    Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hey Wes,

    I also have the hookers on the front and rear seats of my S2-A and both are installed with the lower portion of the belt attached to the bottom "hole" and the upper attached to the seat-back as seen in the picture below. Do you think they were installed correctly or do multiple STCs exist?

    Edit: The picture turned itself to look horizontal for some reason. The attachment is actually on the seat back.

    IMG_6461.jpg
     
  17. Feb 19, 2018 #17

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    PittsDriver68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,053
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    OK, I looked up the Hooker Custom Harness STC's. What I understand is that the seat belts are TSO-ed, which allows the main belt, that has a TSO tag on it, to be installed in place of any TSO-ed belt. The second belt is not required equipment and does not need to be TSO-ed and does not need to be attached to the factory provided airframe hard point(s). Which is also the regulatory framework for adding the ratchet to one belt in an Acrobatic Category aircraft. I am under the impression that ratchets might not pass the load test but I would be happy for someone to provided better info.

    The installation in the picture looks solid. I would not change it.

    Best of luck,

    Wes
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018

Share This Page