The Resurrection of N3117

Discussion in 'Pitts' started by dylanxpeters, Mar 25, 2017.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Mar 25, 2017 #1

dylanxpeters

dylanxpeters

dylanxpeters

Registered Users

Hello all. I have made a few posts previously regarding my pitts but i would like to take the time to officially begin documenting the bringing-to-life of my once airworthy Pitts Special S-1C. I am a very eager 22 year old pilot and mechanic. I work for Mike Goulian and his brother Matt here in New England. I also work as an AOG corporate jet mechanic all over New England.

I owned a 1972 Grumman Yankee that I made a slight restoration to and flew for almost 200 hours in one year. I flew out to Lagrangeville NY and put a deposit on my pitts. I flew home and that night made a barnstormers ad for my beloved grumman and got to trying to sell it.

Fast forward one month and a good friend of mine was flying me out to Lagrangeville to rent a uhaul and load up my pitts.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The airplane came home and i took her apart. I assesed everything and made a few lists of the different things i needed to do. My project came with a Rotec TBI and i quickly began setting that up. I had a spacer built to use the same cowling inlet and began mocking up controls. In the photo you'll also see freshly built aeroquip hose assemblies (I will be adding firesleeve)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

From there i began building a new instrument panel. The materials and basic dimensions were from the plans, but i wanted to incorporate a switch and circuit breaker panel into the instrument panel. The switch panel that was installed when i bought it was cheap and put together with automotive wiring and i thought that it looked cheap. I replaced the oil temp, oil pressure, and ammeter with new gauges from Mitchell. Some photos are attached.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]