Flying characteristics of the Baby Great Lakes

Discussion in 'Baby Great Lakes' started by dls1981dustin, Feb 19, 2018.

Help Support Biplane Forum by donating using the link above.
  1. Feb 19, 2018 #1

dls1981dustin

dls1981dustin

dls1981dustin

Greeting,

I’ve always loved mini bi-planes. With that being said I recently located a Baby Great Lakes in flying condition for what I feel is a fair price. I’m wondering what it would take for me to be successful flying it. I realize there is no easy awnser and there are many variables. I’m currently a private pilot with about 500hrs in various Cessnas and ultralights. My tailwheel experience is limited. About 10hrs in a Cessna 150/150 TW. If I was to get comfortable in my buddy’s Citabria would a average person be able to handle a Baby Great Lakes and not get hurt and wreck the plane? I’ve heard some say I would need training in a Pitts to have a successful outcome. Thanks guys.

2. Feb 19, 2018 #2

Chris McMillin

Chris McMillin

Chris McMillin

Midget biplanes and monoplanes mainly differ from larger airplanes by their short moments and large control surfaces. Because of this very little control movement is necessary for normal flying. More like control pressures are used instead of movements, in a manner of speaking.
    Plenty of practice in whatever you have and then some taxi practice in the midget airplane to get a sight picture of what it'll look like one takeoff and landing , and then go for it.
    I'd think a bunch of Pitts dual wouldn't be so important because they have a whole bunch of performance that a Baby Lakes doesn't and the guys fly S-2's around the pattern at 150 mph with big swooping dive bombs to speedy landings. But that said, it would be fun for you I'm sure if you took it as being additional experience in another airplane rather than specific to flying the Lakes. My opinion...