Beej's Paint

Discussion in 'Fabric & Paint' started by Beej, Apr 23, 2018.

1. Apr 23, 2018 #1

Beej

Beej

Beej

Creator of this place Staff Member Administrator Moderator

Since I am using the dark gray ekofill primer for the fabric, I decided to use the dark gray water born Stewart System Epoxy that matches in color, for the sheet metal. Sure is nice to spray with no fumes! And, I still can't believe how many inspection covers I have :0|

What is odd, is that I am a relatively newbie to spraying (only done small pieces now and again over the years), yet I have now done two major spray sessions and have not one run or sag. Must be beginners luck. I thought maybe I was too far away, but I keep checking the thumb_to_little_ finger distance......

Img_0652.jpg

VH-ZSJ, taff, smizo and 3 others like this.
  2. Apr 23, 2018 #2

biplanebob

biplanebob

biplanebob

Member Supporting Member

from what I have read, the water bourn paints spray differently than solvent based paints........you did not have any old spray habits to unlearn .

3. Apr 23, 2018 #3

Beej

Beej

Beej

That info does have merit. For my fiber glass stuff, I had to first use a PPG shop line hi-build primer to help with the pin holes, etc. This session involved a lot of vertical surfaces (more chance of runs). This too turned out well. I am using a pretty expensive devilbiss tekna prolite gun, maybe the gun quality helps....

Pic shows the hi-build primer, before the dark gray epoxy was sprayed on. I have many sessions ahead of me, I am sure I will get my fair share of bad days.... :mad:

[​IMG]

smizo, ernstfokker and Neil like this.
  4. Apr 23, 2018 #4

biplanebob

biplanebob

biplanebob

Member Supporting Member

Gun quality definitely helps......I painted my first car with a Craftsman spray gun that came as a package with the "on sale" compressor.

When I painted my biplane, I bought a Binks #7 gun.......a very obvious difference in quality.

Bob

5. Apr 23, 2018 #5

taff

taff

taff