• The Biplane Forum is a large global active community of biplane builders, owners and pilots. From Pitts to Skybolts, to older barnstormers, all types are welcome. In addition to our active community, our content boasts exhaustive technical information which is often sought after for projects and maintenance. This information has accumulated over the 12+ years the forum has been in existence.

The Biplane Forum is a private community. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched source of information not found anywhere else on the web. We are also a great resource for non biplane users, since many GA aircraft are built the same way (fabric and tube construction). Annual membership also comes with two BiplaneForum.com decals.

New Pilot from Texas - Help deciding which plane!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Derek884

Reaction score
I am a 28yr old pilot in Texas. I am looking to buy my first plane.

Budget $20K

Interests: Aerobatics, Cross Country Flying, Any Flying

Ideal Plane Traits:
-Low Cost
-Fuel Efficient
-High Cruise Speed
-Aerobatic Capable

Planes I am looking at:

Pitts S1C -$15-20k - Great for aerobatics, but pretty much nothing else.
Acro Sport - $15-20k - Also great for aerobatics, but more docile
Varieze - $15-25k - Super badass efficiency. Awesome speed, fuel efficiency, and cool looking. Con - Low G loading, danger of wing root problems, low useful load
Dragonfly - $12-20k - Also efficient and fast. Cool, but bad reputation for landing.
Sonerai II - $8-15k - Decent cruise, super efficient, low cost, 6G loading

I think a RV or Long-EZ would problably fit the bill the best, but it is out of my price range.