• The Biplane Forum is a large global active community of biplane builders, owners and pilots. From Pitts to Skybolts, to older barnstormers, all types are welcome. In addition to our active community, our content boasts exhaustive technical information which is often sought after for projects and maintenance. This information has accumulated over the 12+ years the forum has been in existence.

The Biplane Forum is a private community. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched source of information not found anywhere else on the web. We are also a great resource for non biplane users, since many GA aircraft are built the same way (fabric and tube construction). Annual membership also comes with two BiplaneForum.com decals.

Pitts S1-C flown as LSA

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PITTS 76

Reaction score
I am new to the biplane forum and noticed some members show a interest in a pitts being flown as a LSA. Well so do I. Due to medical reasons I may have to fly LSA if I still want to fly.
I own a Pitts S1-C that the original owner build from plans that he purchased from curtis pitts in 1966. It's a short fuselage (3") and has the shorter lower wing. The gross weight is 1050 lbs. and the listed stall
speed is 57 mph. It came with a Sensenich 74" dia. prop with a 55" pitch
which the original owner probably used to do vertical stuff. It has a IO-320
LYC. engine with christen oil system, so it's a full inverted system. It also has a skytec starter, small 40 amp alternator and a 19 amp motor cycle
battery. The planes empty weight is 760 lbs. With the climb prop (55")the
max level speed is below the required 138 mph if you keep the RPM below the 2700 RPM redline. The only problem keeping it from qualifying